Head to head
Segway Ninebot MAX G30P vs MAX G2
The Segway Ninebot MAX G30P at $499.99 covers most flat commutes on its 350W motor and 40.4-mile claimed range for $250 less than the Segway Ninebot MAX G2 at $749.99, which trades that lower price for a 1000W motor, a 22 mph top speed, and 10-inch tires better suited to hills and rough pavement.
| MAX G30P | MAX G2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $499.99 | $749.99 |
| Motor | 350W | 1000W |
| Top speed | 18.6 mph | 22 mph |
| Claimed range | 40.4 miles | 43 miles |
| Wheel size | Not stated for this listing | 10 in |
| Braking | Drum brake | Not stated for this listing, check current spec sheet |
| Best for | Flat, paved commutes prioritizing range per dollar | Hills, heavier riders, and higher cruising speed |
| Price difference | Baseline | About $250 more |
The headline difference: motor power, not battery size
Both scooters claim similar range, 40.4 miles for the MAX G30P versus 43 miles for the MAX G2, so this comparison is not really about how far either one goes on paper. It is about motor power: 350W against 1000W, nearly triple. That difference shows up on hills, in acceleration, and in how the scooter feels at higher speed, more than it shows up in the range number on the box.
What 1000W actually buys you on a hill
Using our hill climb calculator model for a 210 lb rider and scooter on a 10 percent grade: a 350W motor like the G30P's holds only about 5.5 mph, while a 1000W motor like the G2's holds closer to 14 mph on the same hill. If your commute includes any real incline, that gap is the whole decision. A 350W motor also only holds a modest 8 mph up to about a 6 percent grade before it fades further; the G2's extra power is what keeps a hilly commute from turning into a slow crawl.
Real range once you subtract the marketing math
Claimed range assumes a 165 lb rider on flat ground in warm weather at eco speed; expect 60 to 80 percent of the claim in normal riding, and less in cold weather (about 10 percent less range at 50 F, 20 percent less at 32 F). Both scooters lose a similar percentage under those conditions, so the claimed 2.6-mile gap between them roughly holds up in real use. Run your own numbers on our range calculator before deciding.
Weight, speed and who each one actually suits
A heavier rider loses more range and more hill speed on any scooter, so the G2's extra headroom in motor power matters more the closer you are to a typical scooter's stated max load. The G30P's 18.6 mph top speed and 350W motor suit a lighter rider on mostly flat terrain who wants Segway's build quality without paying for power they will not use. The G2's 22 mph top speed and 1000W motor suit a heavier rider, a hillier route, or simply a rider who wants faster acceleration in traffic.
Is the $250 jump worth it?
If your commute is flat and under 10 miles round trip, the G30P likely covers it with the same practical range as the G2 for $250 less. If you deal with any hill, ride at night on rougher pavement, or weigh more than about 180 lb, the G2's motor headroom earns its price premium in a way the range number alone does not show.
How we chose
Nothing here was ridden or tested in person. This comparison is built from manufacturer specifications, UL 2272 style safety certifications where listed, and the physics of motor power against rider weight and grade.
The picks from this comparison
Prices change often; the button shows today's price on Amazon.
Other comparisons
- Electric scooter vs electric bike: which one fits your ride
- Hiboy S2 vs S2 Pro
- Hiboy vs Gotrax: the budget commuter matchup
- Kick scooter vs electric scooter for kids
- Pro scooter vs kick scooter
- Solid vs pneumatic scooter tires
- Three-wheel vs two-wheel kids scooters
Questions riders ask
Is the Segway Ninebot MAX G2 worth $250 more than the G30P?
It depends on your route. The claimed range is nearly identical between the two, so the extra money buys motor power: 1000W versus 350W, and a 22 mph top speed versus 18.6 mph. If you ride hills, weigh more than about 180 lb, or want faster acceleration, the G2 earns its premium. On a flat, short commute, the G30P delivers similar practical range for less.
Which one climbs hills better?
The MAX G2, by a wide margin. Its 1000W motor holds an estimated 14 mph on a 10 percent grade with a 210 lb rider aboard, versus roughly 5.5 mph for the G30P's 350W motor on the same hill. If your commute includes any meaningful incline, the G2's motor power is the deciding factor, not the similar range claims on both boxes.
Do both scooters have the same claimed range?
They are close: 40.4 claimed miles for the G30P and 43 for the G2, a gap of under 3 miles. Real-world range for both drops to roughly 60 to 80 percent of that claim once rider weight, wind and hills are factored in, so the practical difference between them narrows further in everyday use rather than growing.
Which scooter is better for a heavier rider?
The MAX G2's larger 1000W motor and 10-inch wheels are the safer bet for a heavier rider, since more motor power holds speed better on hills and under load, and heavier riders lose more range and hill speed on any scooter. Check the current listing on both models for a stated max weight limit before buying, since it can change between model revisions.
Are both models UL 2272 certified?
Buy any electric scooter that is UL 2272 listed for battery and electrical fire safety; check the current listing for both the G30P and the G2 to confirm certification status before you buy, since certification details can be updated by the manufacturer. Charge either model on a hard, uncluttered surface with the maker's charger, and never leave it charging unattended overnight near an exit.
Wear a helmet every ride, and check your state and city rules on age, speed and where scooters may ride. This page is researched guidance, not professional, legal or medical advice. Specifications come from each product listing and can change; confirm on the listing before you buy.